April Math Calendar

april-math-calendar

My homeschool co-op classes had a lot of fun creating this April calendar to hand out at our end-of-semester party on Friday. It’s not as easy to read as a traditional calendar — it is more like a puzzle. The expression in each square simplifies to that day’s date, so families can treat each day like a mini-review quiz: “Do you remember how to calculate this?”

Download your own copy:

If you’ve been wanting to start your own math club, you will find plenty of helpful ideas here:

Update

Check out my May Math Calendar post for more ideas about how to use these puzzles.

 
* * *

This blog is reader-supported.

If you’d like to help fund the blog on an on-going basis, then please join me on Patreon for mathy inspiration, tips, and an ever-growing archive of printable activities.

If you liked this post, and want to show your one-time appreciation, the place to do that is PayPal: paypal.me/DeniseGaskinsMath. If you go that route, please include your email address in the notes section, so I can say thank you.

Which I am going to say right now. Thank you!

“April Math Calendar” copyright © 2009 by Denise Gaskins.

9 thoughts on “April Math Calendar

  1. Oh my gosh, I don’t know why, but this tickled me! A lot of my students’ parents are highly educated, so I think I may pass out this calendar (with your URL at the bottom, of course, so they can visit you themselves) as a little April Fool’s gag. I teach two- and three-year olds, so to tell their parents that we’ll be working on those skills for the next month would be fun.

    I love your blog, by the way. I don’t comment much but I follow because I like math. Thanks for all you do.

  2. Thanks for the reminder, Patti! The pdf file now includes a copyright notice at the bottom with a link to my blog. Of course, you are welcome to copy out as many as you want for family, classroom, math club, or whatever personal or educational use.

  3. Hey guys,
    Thanx heaps for your blogs. I have been using it as well. I find them very useful. By the way I am from Sydney Australia.

  4. This is great! Thank you so much for sharing it. I am going to hang it and have the picklets do one each day as a “challenge”.

    Gerky

  5. I also liked this the moment I saw it. Another way to use it would be to get the kids to produce a blank calendar and a seperate list of the questions in jumbled form and then get their class mates to insert them on the calendar in their correct positions!

  6. Hi,

    I hope you do the calendars every month. The April one was sent to me which is how I found out about this website and we love it.

    Thanks,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.